DMX interfaces

Chat about Show Buddy Active - lighting & video control software
Post Reply
cgrafx
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 8:52 pm

DMX interfaces

Post by cgrafx » Tue Jan 01, 2019 8:26 pm

Hi Dave,

Is there a specific restriction on what DMX interfaces will work with show buddy active.

Does it have to be an enttec interface?

I'm in the process of reworking my show rack and due to space constraints and wanting to improve the wireless capability of my system I'm going to change out the DMX interface (which is currently a DMXIS housed in a 1U chuavet Stream 6 chassis). see this topic for reference.

I may just unbox the DMXIS and put it back in to the original case, but figured I'd look at what my options are, since my long term plans are for a much bigger lighting configuration and a single universe will be restrictive.

neilnotts
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 8:50 am
Location: Nottingham, UK
Contact:

Re: DMX interfaces

Post by neilnotts » Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:31 am

Hi there. Regarding DMX, Show Buddy Active will only work with the work with Enttec DMXIS box. Alternatively, you can use an ArtNet Client.

Cheers

4mal
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2019 8:59 pm

Re: DMX interfaces

Post by 4mal » Thu Jan 03, 2019 9:14 pm

I have an eDmx1 in inventory. I recall that it supports ArtNet and dmx. Is that workable. I’ll need to add another interface shortly to get to 2 Uni support. It would be nice to be purchasing 1 as opposed to 2 though...

cgrafx
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 8:52 pm

Re: DMX interfaces

Post by cgrafx » Thu Jan 03, 2019 9:33 pm

I've spent the last 24hrs digging into the Artnet offerings. Looks like I will definitely go that route.

I already have a high-power 5ghz access point connected in my rack so it will just be a question of finding the appropriate interfaces to get me from point A to B. There are a number of WiFi range extenders that can be configured as point-to-point nodes. Add in an Artnet to DMX box (either single or multiple Universe models) and I should have a good solution that gets my DMX interface physically out of my existing rack, which was a poor location for the DMX wireless box anyway.

I'll follow-up here with a more details once I have my system configured and tested. Hopefully that will be of use to others facing similar challenges.

Post Reply