creating new fixtures

Chat relating to fixtures.dmxis.com, the fixture editor for all our lighting products.
mhanu70

creating new fixtures

Post by mhanu70 »

Hi i have a couple of questions about creating new fixtures for D pro using http://fixtures.dmxis.com/

i am creating the Prolights Cromospot 500. As from the manual:

ch 1 pan
ch 2 Tilt
ch 3 color wheel
ch 4 fixed gobo wheel
ch 5 fixed gobo wheel 2
ch 6 gobo wheel 2 rotation
ch 7 Prism
ch 8 Prism rotation
ch9 iris
ch 10 focus
ch11 dimmer
ch12 strobe
ch13 control

when i create the 13 ch configuration does it matter if i set those channels to "Fixed" or "variable"?
i tried to import the configuration in D-pro and the only attributes that seem to change in the device browser (monitor live output:on) are pan; tilt and dimmer.
i can't see any change in colors or else. Is that due to the limitations of physical view of device browser?
Probably mine are naive questions, but i am just beginning.
i have attached the exported file here.
i also made the fixture available to other users (hope it's right)

thanks
Attachments
ProLights-Cromospot 500.zip
(1.03 KiB) Downloaded 358 times
JeremyAtEnttec

Re: creating new fixtures

Post by JeremyAtEnttec »

Visualization:

Only Pan/.Tilt, Dimmer, and RGB mixed colors show up in the visualizer when Monitor Live Output is selected.

The Device Browser takes a stab at representing what an RGB mix will look like, but it has no way to tell what the color wheel attribute will turn the light into on stage. So changes there will not be reflected on screen in the Device Browser, but they can be examined in either the Programmer Window or the DMX OUTPUT window for DMX values.

Fixed VS Variable: