Midi Contoller for DMXIX

byardt

Midi Contoller for DMXIX

Post by byardt »

Hi, I'm a newbie to DMXIS and finding it a fantastic tool. However, I am looking for the ideal midi controller that can cover most bases in terms of programming banks/presets and firing them off in a live performance. Has anyone found souch a controller or are we waiting for a dedicated unit to be invented? Macbook Pro/Traktor.
Cheers,
Byard.
rad3d

Re: Midi Contoller for DMXIX

Post by rad3d »

While most of what I do with DMXis is done using simple footswitch preset control, I also run a bank of MIDI gear from a McMillen SoftStep MIDI foot controller (http://www.keithmcmillen.com/softstep/overview), and use it to fire off certain special effects in DMXis. McMillen's controllers have some of the most comprehensive MIDI capabilities you can find in a very small package. If you are looking for a touch controller, you might look into their QuNeo (http://www.keithmcmillen.com/QuNeo/overview).

With either of these, you can trigger specific banks/presets, individual faders, etc. in DMXis.

If you are simply wanting some sort of remote control capability for DMXis, you might also want to see what they offer up with the iPad remote app that will be part of the next release (no details yet, though).
robare99

Post by robare99 »

I use a Behringer FCB1010 to control DMXIS. Out of the box, it works like those.

Bank 0, 1-10 first 10 scenes on the scene list
Bank 1, 1 - 10 next 10 scenes

Etc.
byardt

Post by byardt »

Thanks guys for your your posts. Have looked at what is available for my needs and decided to go with Novation ZeRO SL MkII. Will post once I have had chance to work with it.
harmonicspeed

Post by harmonicspeed »

Hi,

I am trying to set up my Rocktron All Access midi pedalboard up to control the DMXIS.

The Rocktron All Access is capable of sending midi messages to 16 separate midi channels to 16 independent midi devices at any one time if desired.