fixture latency

AndersM

fixture latency

Post by AndersM »

Hi everyone,
I'm completely new to DMXIS, so please bear with me if I'm getting something completely wrong. Also I didn't quite find this problem in the forum yet...
I'm used to working with QLC+ but I'm working on a project with a friend who is used to using DMXIS and I would like to make it easier for him and use his system, since it has been running in a stable manner for him anyway.
We want to trigger the lights via midi notes, sent from Reaper, in synch with a click track for the band.

Now, the thing is:
I have a bunch of UKING Pars that are fine, especially given the insanely low price I paid for them. But they have quite a latency.
Now, in QLC+ I would have a midi note sent for each channel of these fixtures, using velocity as dmx value. I can just pull all those midi notes a bit forward and Bob's your uncle. Am I right to think that this is not easily possible with DMXIS? The way I understood is that you would use a midi note to trigger an entire scene, right? Is there any practial way to work around this?

I appreciate your help :)
Dave Brown [admin]

Re: fixture latency

Post by Dave Brown [admin] »

The usual way to automate a DMXIS show is indeed to use full presets (i.e. scenes) triggered by a single MIDI note. And yes, in this scenario, you cannot selectively modify the timing of certain DMX channels.

There are two alternative solutions.

First, you can use your QLC+ programming method, triggering each DMXIS fader with a different MIDI note. Right-click on a DMXIS fader, select Learn, then send the MIDI note required. From then on, that fader can be triggered by that MIDI Note (with velocity setting the fader height). Alternatively, you can send MIDI CC commands, for continuous control of the fader.