DMXIS midi note message

Anything & everything relating to ENTTEC DMXIS.
Post Reply
User avatar
dadov
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 12:57 am

DMXIS midi note message

Post by dadov » Tue Jan 07, 2020 12:11 pm

Hello,
I am working on a project in at ableton Live.
I have an instance of DMXIS in AU instrument and I control my bank and preset via midi Channel 15 and 16 with 2 dedicated midi tracks.
I noticed that when I send note messages it also interferes with the interface.
For example, on channel 16, it changes the fader page (C2) or even changes the "fade to next" time (Note G8)
Is this normal ? I did not find reference to these midi message.
Thank you for your help
Last edited by dadov on Tue Jan 07, 2020 2:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dave Brown [admin]
Posts: 1849
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 4:53 pm

Re: DMXIS midi note message

Post by Dave Brown [admin] » Tue Jan 07, 2020 1:14 pm

Sounds like there are some stray MIDI Learn assignments in your DMXIS show.

You can reset back to standard MIDI behaviour by choosing "Show > Clear MIDI assignments..." from the main menu in the DMXIS standalone app. Then restart Ableton and all should be well.
Dave Brown - db audioware
Author of DMXIS | D-Pro | Show Buddy | Show Buddy Active | ArtNetMon

User avatar
dadov
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 12:57 am

Re: DMXIS midi note message

Post by dadov » Tue Jan 07, 2020 3:30 pm

Thank you Dave,
I did the procedure that you indicated (Clear MIDI assignments) but unfortunately the problem is still there.
To understand what is going on I connected my midi keyboard to the midi channel 16 of DMXIS and effectively, when I play notes on my keyboard it activates buttons on the interface.
For example F#1 will push the scroll faders page + button IN and G1 will let the button OUT.
So I tried with the standalone app, it does it to when I connect a keyboard in midi channel 16
However there is no midi assignment to this button (it is clearly indicated no midi control).
I tried this same show on another computer and the problem is there to !
If I create a new show, new presets, no problem.
Guess it is the show, what do you think?
I have a gig in 2 weeks with this work... can I send you my DMXIS files ?
Thx

Dave Brown [admin]
Posts: 1849
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 4:53 pm

Re: DMXIS midi note message

Post by Dave Brown [admin] » Tue Jan 07, 2020 4:17 pm

Yeah, please send your DMXIS show folder to support@db-audioware.com. If you need it, this article tells you where the show folders are stored.

Please also confirm your versions of DMXIS, Ableton, and macOS/Windows.
Dave Brown - db audioware
Author of DMXIS | D-Pro | Show Buddy | Show Buddy Active | ArtNetMon

User avatar
dadov
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 12:57 am

Re: DMXIS midi note message

Post by dadov » Tue Jan 07, 2020 5:00 pm

Ok, got it.
Thx Dave

User avatar
dadov
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 12:57 am

Re: DMXIS midi note message

Post by dadov » Thu Jan 16, 2020 12:03 pm

Hello,
I found the solution, nothing to do with midi messages.
Oddly certain preset was saved with an activated interface button.
For example "channel page +"
(which was very annoying when you wanted to keep an eye on faders while changing presets)
So I had to identify all the faulty presets, click on the button several times to unlock it and save it again.

If someone has an idea I am interested, I do not understand if it is a mishandling or a bug.
Thx

Post Reply