Software Compressor?

Chat about Show Buddy - show control software from db audioware.
Post Reply
Big_Vin
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2019 10:20 am

Software Compressor?

Post by Big_Vin » Sun Mar 10, 2019 10:24 am

Hi,

Apologies if this is a stupid question...

I’m using SHOWBUDDY to play backing tracks for a live show.

Is it possible to to output the audio via a software compressor running on the same computer? (VST plug in?)

I’ve played around with VST HOST but so far to no avail.

I’m using windows 10, a Behringet UMC 404 HD USB audio interface.
I don’t want to use any of the audio inputs, just put a compressor after the SHOWBUDDY output.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

David

Dave Brown [admin]
Posts: 1756
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 4:53 pm

Re: Software Compressor?

Post by Dave Brown [admin] » Sun Mar 10, 2019 2:24 pm

If you're simply looking to even out track levels, just use the Show Buddy Volume control.

The Volume knob doesn't simply modify the level - it controls a 3 band mastering compressor built right into Show Buddy. This one, in fact. The Volume knob can boost each track level by up to 20dB, without adding any distortion.
Dave Brown - db audioware
Author of DMXIS | D-Pro | Show Buddy | Show Buddy Active | ArtNetMon

Big_Vin
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2019 10:20 am

Re: Software Compressor?

Post by Big_Vin » Sun Mar 10, 2019 6:29 pm

Thanks the quick reply and the the info Dave... I’ll give it a go.

Post Reply