D-pro start up questions

enki2017

D-pro start up questions

Post by enki2017 »

Firstly hi to all on the forum..
Ok i am new to the lighting/show control sector and have been tasked to run a small community based non profit theatre group which we are doing a small play over easter. I have acquired some moving head lights and the theatre has basic generic lighting..

I want to run this play as automatic as possible and have purchased out of my own pocket which are..

ipod with lumanir

enttec artnet node

standard router

elation midicon desk

old macbook for qlab-lighting control software

So the big queston is if i purchase d pro for the lighting control software can i use qlab for the music thru cues to trigger the d pro to operate the lighting thru artnet-ipod-lumanire- midicon desk..

Will this be workable or is there a better control software ie show buddy, dmxis? Would i even need the midicon desk? Is there someone on the forum that can help me get thru this minefield? waiting for your quick reply..

many thanks Paul
JRUDER

Re: D-pro start up questions

Post by JRUDER »

Hello Paul --

Until Dave or somebody more knowledgeable gets back to you here are my thoughts:

1. The midicon desk should work great as a controller, especially given the theater application you have.
2. What is the reason for using artnet vs straight DMX? It seems to me (with the caveat that I know little about artnet) that this adds a unneeded layer of complexity.
3. What are you going to use both lumanir and D-Pro for, along with the midicon desk -- it seems like either would be a good choice but both together are not needed.
From what I know Luminair 3 is a stand alone DMX solution.
4. Q-Lab -- what do you see it's role being? Controlling the sound?

If you are just wanting hands off control of the show while still retaining the ability to grab the wheel when needed you may want to consider the following setup:

Use D-Pro and import your music directly into it.